Skip To Main Content

Board of Assessors


The 3-member Board of Assessors, appointed by the Mayor, ensures the accuracy of the assessing database used for ad valorem taxation, annually determines the “new growth” increase in the levy limit, calculates the tax rate each year, and acts upon abatement applications as well as property tax exemption applications for the elderly, low income, disabled veterans, the blind, and applications for exemption from the Community Preservation Act Surcharge.


3 year term, 3 members


Ted Costigan, Chair, Medford City Hall, term expires 2/28/2027 – $6,500 stipend

Stephen Pompeo, Member, 18 Newton Road, term expires 3/1/2026 – $5,000 stipend

John Lopes, Member, 72 Linwood Street, term expires 2/28/2025 – $5,000 stipend



To contact members of the Board of Assessors, please send mail to the following address:

Board of Assessors, Room 109

85 George P. Hassett Drive

Medford, MA 02155

c/o Ted Costigan